Some Frogs and a Well

22 Jan
Two frogs lived together in a marsh. But one hot summer the marsh dried up and the two left it to look for another place to live in: for frogs like damp places (as should be obvious) if they can get to them. Soon enough they came to a deep well, and one of them looked down into it and said to the other, “This looks to be a cool place: let us jump in and settle here.” But the other, who had a wiser head upon his shoulders, replied lifting his brow, “Not so fast, my friend: for suppose this well dried up like the marsh, how then should we get out again?”

Think twice before you act.


I judge much too easily for my own good. I base what I think I know upon what is occurring in my life. I read what I can and then decide this or that. It has gotten me into trouble once or twice, maybe even three times. Simply because in the process there are people involved and those people sometimes just get hurt and…it was my judgment that did it. My fast actions that caused the misunderstanding. But the thing is, previous to that I over analyzed the situation, I thought I had it right, but I didn’t…in fact it was dead dead wrong.
Let me give you another way of seeing it.
One day, my father decided to teach us a lesson about speech at the dinner table. So he bought six tubes of toothpaste and gave each one out. I got one, my younger sister got one, and my two cousins who were staying with us each got one as with my mom and my father.
“Now,” he said and smiled knowingly, “Squeeze the entire tube out onto your plate.”
I remember staring at my father and thinking, he’s lost his mind, what a waste! My mother chimed in saying, “Dear, I’ll need to buy more toothpaste then.”
“Thats okay,” he said hastily, “Just do it.” So we had at it, my cousins, sister and I each squeezed our entire tubes out onto our plates. I created a pretty little flower design and my younger sister made a smiley face. My younger cousins squeezed their tubes out onto their plates in piles. Soon we were finished and we all looked at my father who sat there at the end of the table with a big smile of knowledge on his face.
“Try to put the toothpaste back in the tube.”

We all paused and my father nodded and then said, “You see, you can’t put the paste back in the tube.”
“I can!” exclaimed my youngest cousin and she proceeded to spoon the paste in and it dribbled back down on her plate.
“Just like words,” my father began, “we need to be careful about what we say, because once we’ve said them, we can’t take them back, just like the toothpaste and the tube.”
There was silence and we all stared at our plates of toothpaste.

As people, we make mistakes and that is understandable, but it becomes less understandable when we make the same mistake over and over again. When will we learn? I guess I’m talking to myself at this point…when will I learn?
When I was younger…I was in this one group of friends, in which there was only one fellow. Eventually we all started to like him, but one particular girl in our group was more his friend then we all were. You can imagine the jealousy that soon began to grow.
One day on a bus ride home, I was sitting with a girl who was a part of my friend group and I commented that I was annoyed by this girl who seemed to be the one this one fellow had eyes for. Two weeks later during lunch recess, I found myself facing a wall of animosity from those friends. The girl who I had told that too had spouted out those words and now the entire group of them essentially “hated my guts” so to speak. I had no idea what happened. It took me three days to figure out what I had said in the first place to make them harbor such hate.
It got to be so bad that when I walked down the hall way and they were there, I was given the cold shoulder. I scarcely breathed a word to them and them to me. I guess you could say I was scared to speak. What made the situation even worse was the fact that this girl of whom I had spoken had been one of my closest friends and then she wouldn’t even make eye contact with me.
I remember calling her up multiple times begging for forgiveness, and praying constantly that if I could only get the chance to talk to her and apologize then everything would be all right. My prayer before bed was that I would once again be her friend and that I would learn never to speak that way about anyone to anyone. Those words were the hardest things I have ever had to take back in my life.
Soon we became friends again, after about two months of severe groveling. Of course that friend group soon split up as soon as it came to high school. I joined the “nerd/geek introverted club”, one girl joined the “smoke every day club” and that boy actually turned out to be gay and the most popular boy in school because he was the first one to “come out.” Thinking back on that situation actually makes me laugh, but also reminds me to think about my words, about my actions and how people perceive me…maybe now I over-analyze that part too much but either way its a good lesson.

Food for Your Thoughts:
Did you know that only about 10% of communication is verbal? That means that 90% of the things you’re saying are NOT coming from your lips, therefore you may think you’re being careful about your words, but are you being careful about your tone and body language?

Leave a Reply

