15 Sep

I went for a walk today and found my heart to be moved by many things. Maybe I am becoming more sentimental, or maybe I have always been sentimental, I don’t know.
But I know that there was a difinite stirring in my soul for the the things that I saw, of which there is always something. I see so many things on my daily walks. But today was different, at least I would like to think so.

There are two things that stand out in my thoughts…the first involves two people. A Chinese girl sitting on her haunches, her long and black hair covered her face, as if in shame. She wore a dark blue sweater, and running shoes. In front of her was a sign, written in Chinese characters, which said “I am hungry, please anything you can spare?” A Chinese man was standing just a meter or so in front of her, he had stopped and was reading her sign. After about two minutes he took two steps towards her as I walked passed. I turned my head back after a time too catch a glimpse and saw that he had his wallet out and was pulling out a few yuan.

My heart skipped a beat.

I kept walking. And then I thought for a second, that should have been me. Why wasn’t that me and him giving that girl something…why didn’t I stop? Why didn’t I stop?

After that, secondly, I saw one man, he pulled a paper out his side-bag and un-folded it and placed it on the side walk curb. After smoothing it out, he thought for a minute and then sat down. I smiled, and almost let out a small laugh.

Ah, I love this, I love being challanged, I love laughing and I enjoy Beijing.

Now, there is classical music playing and elderly Chinese people are dancing. He at first I feel shame, and I feel challanged to be better. And then I feel enlightened and overjoyed at accepting this new venture to be better. And then my heart is smiling because the vision of elderly Chinese people dancing…is calming.

Leave a Reply

