Rainy Day

29 Sep

I always find that when I’m about to write something, the words just don’t flow. Its almost as if the thought came to me to write purely for the sake of writing, but not for actually putting something useful down on the page.
It has got to be of the most frustrating things to think “Yes, today I will write,” and then sit down at the computer or your piece of paper and have absolutely nothing to put down. Thoughtless. Sometimes I have to spend a fixed amount of time, just thinking about what on earth I could actually write. What on earth people will find interesting. What if nobody reads it?
Who cares? Well me of course. But in actuality it doesn’t really matter does it? Because my thoughts are now out there at least, permanently stamped somewhere in cyber-space.

…sigh. What to write? Sometimes it helps if I just begin to ramble. So here we go…

Will writing here make me famous? No. Becuase I am not different from anyone else. As far as I know almost everyone could write a blog, comment on it and keep it updated and nobody would even know that person existed. We all have our problems. No ‘one person’ is set apart in the way that makes them particularly special. Don’t get me wrong. We are all individuals determined to find out own way, but each person has woes, each person experiences joy and sadness, pain and excitement. Each person has their own trials, their own tribulations and triumphs. It is how we deal with them that makes us different from each other.

Is writing here futile? Why do it? Writing is not at all in the least bit futile. Nope I refuse to think that is the case. At least its down, at least you have sorted through your thoughts. And if perchance someone is going through something similar to what you are, then they can maybe learn from your mistakes…

Half the time people keep their thoughts to themselves because they believe nobody would care to listen. Of course they wouldn’t if you shoved it down their throats, but they would if you would share them in a genuine way, expressing concern for their thoughts as well as yours. So by all means write down your day-to-day occurances, your silly mistakes and your profound thoughts about the world. Will other people disagree with you, call you out on your fumbles? YES! Of course and as well they should, but most likely there will be others right along side you making the same blunders.

I’ve written in the past that vulnerability is underrated, and I couldn’t agree more. Be vulnerable, its allowing yourself to fall under scrutiny…you are taking a risk writing down your thoughts! But risks teach you lessons and make you stronger. Those who don’t take risks, never see themselves apart from what they want to see. Those who don’t take risks always stay on the side-lines; never play in the game. Of course they don’t get bruised, but then they also miss out on life-changing experiences…am I right?

Wow! Now see a second ago (or maybe longer than that) I was at a loss as to what I should ‘jot down.’ I am (to be honest) quite pleasantly surprised with myself! Or course this ramble is no great revelation, but it is (I think) a small one worth keeping in the back of your brain to pull out on a rainy day to ponder.

2 Responses to “Rainy Day”

  1. Jenny October 4, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Tricia! I love your blog and all the adventures you are having. This post reminded me of a poem that I discovered not too long ago. It was right before I flew to Panama for the semester, so went along with the whole concept of ‘risk.’

    To laugh is to risk appearing a fool,
    To weep is to risk appearing sentimental
    To reach out to another is to risk involvement,
    To expose feelings is to risk exposing your true self
    To place your ideas and dreams before a crowd is to risk their loss
    To love is to risk not being loved in return,
    To hope is to risk despair,
    To try is to risk failure.
    But risks must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.
    The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, is nothing.
    He may avoid suffering and sorrow,
    But he cannot learn, feel, change, grow or live.
    Chained by his servitude he is a slave who has forfeited all freedom.
    Only a person who risks is free.

    Praying for you and the ways God is and will use you. Miss and love you.

    Grace,
    Jenny

    P.S. I’m keeping a blog while I’m in Panama if you want to check it out 🙂
    http://torisk-jenny.blogspot.com/

    • triciamaria October 4, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      Hello Jenny!!
      Thank-you so much for your comment!! I loved the poem! 🙂 I am so excited about your Panama semester, that sounds amazing! What will you be doing there? I’ll try to check out your blog although blogspot is blocked in China…I’ll try my best though!
      Praying for you sister and giving you a big hug through cyber-space!

      Blessings
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

