The Curse of the Cold

26 Oct

I’ve been struck. Its quite official. I have a cold. And I thought I could get away without catching one. But then there are many factors against me here you know. But to be fair there couldn’t be any way around it…

Firstly, the smog alone is reason enough to catch a cold in Beijing.
Secondly, I teach young kids, teachers always get sick…
Thirdly, its the season for getting sick when the weather changes from warm to cold…and Beijing is no exception!

So now I’ve got to thinking about the types of things I like to have or do when I’m sick…a few things come to mind; things like drinking hot tea, chicken-noodle-soup, drink ginger-ale and watch movies and sleep.

Aww, sweet sleep, glorious sleep.

Do you remember a time when if you were told to take a nap, you protested and came up with a million excuses not to sleep? I do…its seems strange to me now that I would protest something so rejuvenating! Now if someones tells me to take a nap, I respond gladly with “Sure thing!” The only thing is that there is never enough time in the day to fit in a nap. There is always something to do, something to see, something to finish, something to start. Not that I am complaining, no, I enjoy being busy.

Just not when I’m sick. When I’m sick there is only one thing that I want to do and that is be lazy!

What about you now?

One Response to “The Curse of the Cold”

  1. Matthew James Pearson October 27, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Aw, get well soon Tricia! I think I’m getting sick now too. I always just try to sleep as much as possible and pop Vitamin C pills like candy. And it’s always a good excuse to be lazy and watch movies in bed all day;)

Leave a Reply

