A Snippet

1 Nov

Under an overpass I see many things.
If I look out across I see a man peddling slowly on a bicycle that is heavy laden with compact cardboard.
The air is so think that around the street lights it seems there is a thick haze.
If I look to my right I see a woman, sitting by a pillar. Her head is bowed, her hands shoved in between her crossed legs to keep warm. She is missing a shoe and her other one is barely on her foot.
She isn’t moving. I walk over to her…but no matter the sound she stays still.
I walk through the overpass and am left wondering about the lady. But I see a girl riding her bike, tears are streaming from her eyes and dripping from her chin.
“What happened on this night that so many are hurting?” I wonder.
I continue walking and soon see a begger man, he is missing a leg, standing with his cruches holding a tin can and shaking it every once in a while to remind passerbys of his exsistance.
I drop two or three kuai in his can and he nods his thanks.

I continue walking.

Soon I see a mother holding her sleeping child, sitting at the base of some stairs. The child is young, and completely covered to block out the cold.

What have I seen?

I have seen lonliness, sadness, poverty and love all in the span of five minutes. A snippet of time. I might have missed all of this if I had walked home staring at my feet.

2 Responses to “A Snippet”

  1. jc November 19, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    i think the last two sentences sum this up beautifully

  2. Abi December 4, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    THREE THINGS
    1. That reminds me of Xalapa.
    2. Love the ending
    3. WE all miss YOU in Xalapa and Cabada!!!

    PS: hope you keep on being the eyes for those of us who many times miss things like what you shared with us in this post…(i guess we can miss those things) either because we are self-centered most of the time; or, in other people’s cases, because they are not in contact with that part of the world’s reality

Leave a Reply

