A Smile.

25 Nov

A copious amount of people live in Beijing.
Chaoyang District.
I’m here waiting at the intersection.
Surrounded by people…an elbow in my back. It’s regular and I’m used to it actually.
Walking is never easy here, there is usually someone walking slower, someone walking with their head down. Someone walking faster and into you…

I keep thinking it will be different when I can walk straight without having to slow down. I wonder if I will miss this “surrounded” feeling.

The air is so thick, I really do feel as if I could cut it with a knife. Even if it’s windy, breathing can sometimes be so difficult.

But this is the city. This is what you deal with when you live here. And truthfully?

I enjoy it. I enjoy the people I see, their faces, their relationships. Sometimes I catch myself simply smiling because of my blessings, because I’m here living in the lights.
I enjoy those lights that at night make the darkness still feel as if it were day-time…I enjoy how I am forced to look around and observe what I see.

It pops my comfort-zone bubble, lets me know that I am not alone and that people each have problems. It’s not my job to fix the problems, but my job is to at least care.

Who are these people with their elbows digging in my back? Who are those people who walk with their eyes downward? Where are they going?

Of course I can’t consider all of the people…my brain doesn’t have that capacity to think about it. But if I keep my eyes and ears open, I would be able to notice that maybe one of these many people could do with a smile of encouragement…and while I know that for me it was only a split second of energy, for them it could mean minutes of reflection. They say that a genuine smile lasts…a fake one can be turned on and off like a light. How many genuine smiles do you give out a day?

Just a question. To be completely honest when I started writing this, I didn’t begin with the intention of ending it this way. I wanted to write about how busy it is here, how the sounds are always buzzing, ringing, clanging. How there is always someone selling something, calling out to the people walking by in a bid, desperate or not, to win their attention.

I started writing this post, with only that goal, but I think I’m ending it with a challenge to myself.

My smile. How often do I give it away? It’s not expensive, but it’s priceless. It’s not worthless, it’s worthwhile. It isn’t time consuming, but it still lets others know you care even a little bit.

How often do I give out my smile?

3 Responses to “A Smile.”

  1. Travis Jans December 20, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Hi, – stumbled on your current web page by pure luck whilst looking around the internet this morning, and happy that i did! I do like the design and style and tones, but I ought to point out that I’m having difficulties when it loads. I’m using Lynxlet 7.1 browser for mac, and the top panel would not lineup fully. i am convinced employed an identical layout on a customer’s site, but the menu seems okay on mine. I have an idea the error is at my end and maybe it is time to switch!

  2. Aidan Hobbes December 21, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, thanks .

  3. triciamaria January 17, 2012 at 2:04 am #

    Hey there, I know this is a late reply, but thank-you for commenting and thank you for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

