insert (Gripping Title) here

29 Sep

Same photo that has appeared on the FB. This is Pawan and I in Vrindavan, India at Jaisiyaram; singing “Row Row Row Your Boat”…I would have to say that never have I ever had so much joy than teaching these simple songs…if I could relive a moment. Thank you Ramona for sending me this photo.

Promise me you’ll read the entire post.

I don’t know what makes people read my blog, and maybe my readership consists mostly of my family. Oh well it makes me feel good to look at the stats now and then and see someone in Qatar is reading my words. It puts a bit of pressure on me to be super awesome when I write something.

That’s hard!

Oh the competition these days, oh the weight of trying to “make it” in a world that is so empathetic to the petite efforts of little me. One could succumb to the depth and enormity of it all you know. Give up entirely. I mean really, why am I writing these blogs? Am I trying to make it “viral” someone accidentally be discovered?

You want honesty, I’ll give you blunt honesty. Yes, I want that. I want to be “discovered.” Like Justin Beiber,  like Colbie Caillat. Who else? Oh J.K. Rowling. And that girl, Julie Powell, who wrote a blog about trying all the recipes in Julia Child‘s cookbook. She made it, her blog became a book, and then a movie for goodness sakes! Yes I want that to happen to me.

Let’s carry it on a little further. Listening to AM640 Talk Radio yesterday, while driving to Toronto, and The Mike Stafford came on. They were discussing a fellow who had made a public comment, and now he was on the news and TV shows…I thought to myself, “Yes, this is what I will do!”

My Devised Method 

1. Upload a video of my awesome singing/dancing skills and then Usher will see it and I’ll hit the “big-time”.

2. Have superbly awesome writing skills and an imagination to create something that would capture the hearts and minds of the world. Write in a cafe, where I can look out the window, see a castle and envision an entire fantasy.

3. Create and keep up a blog many people will read and appreciate. But what’s his face (I think his name is Ryan?) on The Mike Stafford Show said, “Who blogs anymore these days?” Dang, okay. And I’ll be honest I’m going to tag all those famous people in here, and hope they read it…who knows maybe they will.

4. State a controversial comment on this blog, or my FB or my Twitter, and have the news focus on: Me. What can I say that hasn’t been said?

Hmmm

Let’s check in with reality…

Will it happen? Most likely no. And I have to settle myself down with the simple fact that my strength lies in being the Canadian, Tricia Demmers. Also please don’t read with judgment because I’ll bet somewhere deep inside your “denial of fame”, you kind of wish it would happen to you too. And that is okay. BUT I’m still reaching for the stars of course, I’m not giving up my dream of somehow making it as a writer/journalist/foreign correspondent/whatever will come along. Nope. Who ever got anywhere by giving up on their dreams? NOBODY.

Sigh*                                           You still reading?

Okay so why is there a photo of me with a little boy singing a song in this post? Excellent question dear reader (whoever you might be…mom if it’s you, well I give you a “high-five” through the internet cloud). It is to remind myself (and the reader) :

1. Wonderful opportunities come without asking. We need to be thankful for what comes my way when we go searching.

2. Power in being small. Sometimes hitting the “big-time” means you lose individuality. I would like to keep mine. 

3. You never know who will influence with the character you’re becoming.

Basically I shouldn’t have to “need” thousands of readers or “Likes” on this post to know what is captured in the photo above is priceless. It would be reassuring, but it’s only because my human need for approval unfortunately outweighs the purity of the above knowledge. Sad but true. I mean why else would I write this up on the world-wide web right?

To be honest I’m uncertain about how to put a “slam-bank” finish to this…so

The End.

 

One Response to “insert (Gripping Title) here”

  1. Lien October 2, 2012 at 12:48 am #

    Hey there I am so excited I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

Leave a Reply

