From Left Field

5 Oct

A Different Spin

I usually don’t enjoy writing about politics. I’ve made an acception in this case, and I hope you continue to read to find out exactly what.

Recently watched the presidential debate between President Barack Obama and Governor Mitt Romney. My father offered commentary throughout the entire thing, thus making any comments made by the newscasters superfluous. There was a lot of talk about taxes, about healthcare, about education and social security. Terms like trickle-down government and top-down government and ObamaCare, found their way into the debate.

Nervous laughter followed when a Romney or Obama made a slight jab at the other. But in the end the two shook hands amiably and the viewers all took something away from the event.

I, however, focused on something entirely different from the political aspect of the debate. Now, I enjoy debating just as much as the next person, but I’ll admit; while watching my mind wandered. And wouldn’t you like to know where?

Men.

Of all the things I could think about at a time of high tension, also known as a tipping point in American Politics, I was thinking about men. I hang my head in a little shame. But it’s true. I looked at the debaters from a different light. I placed them (Romney and Obama) in an imaginary pool of men and considered if they would indeed stand out. What would make them different from the other men there?

In my blunt opinion. If I were to venture into that pool of men and have a hypothetical conversation with one. I would look for and be attracted to qualities such as:

Visually

  1. Well dressed, clean clothing: a dapper fellow
  2. A smile, bright eyes: a handsome fellow
  3. Confident stance
  4. Open to conversation
  5. Tall (I’m 5 foot 10)

During Conversation

  1. Intelligent speaker
  2. Articulate/expressive
  3. Opinionated but willing to listen
  4. Class & Culture
  5. Eye Contact
  6. Challenging; not pompous

In light of this list. And yes I am about to reveal which Presidential Candidate I would most be attracted to. Who would I, a mere Canadian girl sauntering through a pool of men, be attracted to, based on the above list?

I’m sure you can deduce who. Now forget about me and think about the citizens of the U.S.A. Consider that country. If it were a woman…whom would she choose?

Leave a Reply

